That I Am…

Some background information for the poem: “Shiva represents the unmanifest and Shakti the manifest; Shiva the formless and Shakti the formed; Shiva consciousness and Shakti energy, not only in the cosmos as a whole but in each and every individual. ” You can read more here – Shiva & Shakti – the Twin ‘Realities’ http://www.yogamag.net/archives/1991/bmar91/twins.shtml

Known is a drop, Unknown is an Ocean

“mano buddhi ahankara chittani naaham
na cha shrotravjihve na cha ghraana netre
na cha vyoma bhumir na tejo na vaayuhu
chidananda rupah shivo’ham shivo’ham”

I am not the mind, the intellect, the ego or the memory,
I am not the ears, the skin, the nose or the eyes,
I am not space, not earth, not fire, water or wind,
I am the form of consciousness and bliss, I am Shiva…

“na cha prana sangyo na vai pancha vayuhu
na va sapta dhatur na va pancha koshah
na vak pani-padam na chopastha payu
chidananda rupah shivo’ham shivo’ham”

I am not the breath, nor the five elements,
I am not matter, nor the 5 sheaths of consciousness
Nor am I the speech, the hands, or the feet,
I am the form of consciousness and bliss, I am Shiva…

“na me dvesha ragau na me lobha mohau
na me vai mado naiva matsarya…

View original post 246 more words

Leave a Reply

