Quotes: Dancing

Video: 97 years old lady dancing in the streets of Italy.

To dance is to reach for a word that doesn’t exist,
To sing the heartsong of a thousand generations,
To feel the meaning of a moment in time.

– Beth Jones

Dance is the hidden language of the soul. – Martha Graham

Life is the dancer and you are the dance. – Eckhart Tolle

Dancing is a vertical expression of a horizontal desire. – Robert Frost

While I dance I can not judge, I can not hate, I can not separate myself from life.  I can only be joyful and whole. This is why I dance. – Hans Bos

Let us dance in the sun, wearing wild flowers in our hair…  – Susan Polis Schutz

Dance, when you’re broken open. Dance, if you’ve torn the bandage off. Dance in the middle of the fighting. Dance in your blood. Dance when you’re perfectly free. – Rumi

To be creative means to be in love with life. You can be creative only if you love life enough that you want to enhance its beauty, you want to bring a little more music to it, a little more poetry to it, a little more dance to it.  – Osho

Kids: they dance before they learn there is anything that isn’t music. – William Edgar Stafford

To dance is to be out of yourself. Larger, more beautiful, more powerful.. This is power, it is glory on earth and it is yours for the taking. – Agnes De Mille

 

PS. “Do you wanna  dance” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4T6XIBIjKck began to play on the radio just when I got this post ready.  😀 Yes, I want to.

3 thoughts on “Quotes: Dancing

  1. Wonderful! I love the video.
    For me, the metaphor of dancing is always used in dreams , and it means ‘the process of communicating with others about the spiritual journey’. I always thought that maybe that is just my personal dream metaphor (since I was an avid competitve ballroom dancer when I was younger).
    But when you wrote the Tolle quote, I think that the dance metaphor may be a universal one for life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing your experience!

      Yes, metaphors can have both universal/collective and individual meanings. Whatever “clicks” inside is the personal one(s) to my mind.

      I love the video, too. The dancing elderly lady kind of saids it all to me (beyond where I could reach with any words).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

