Poem: On the Road with Aphrodite

800px-Alexandre_Cabanel_-_O_nascimento_de_Venus

I have shared this poem in my earlier blog (which doesn´t exist anymore), so some of you have seen it already. I just feel drawn to share it here as well.

 

I’ve been asking for the road
from the stars and the angels
from the seers and the cards,
from Egypt

I have asked,

and the clouds and the flowers
and the wind around,
from the brightest rainbow
I have asked

I have traveled through the time,
I’ve touched the stars,
I’ve been tiny as an atom,
and larger than the planet

I have fallen from the stars,
Risen up as well

I’ve been the dancer in the temple,
the priestess of the sun I’ve been,

the hierophant, the healer,
the servant, the beggar,
the young soul, the old soul,
the actor, the cobbler,

that magician too
I’ve been

All that I’ve been,
my friend, as
we’ve all been
that and all

until finally
Aphrodite
gently touches the forehead,
whispers:
Now it’s time, now it’s time,
the veils have been dissipated

You see now that
I am
in each one of you,
I am everywhere,
I am love, I am beauty,
I am love.

I am yours,
I am you and
you are me.

Please, embrace
the jewel
you’ve always been.

– Deelia © (ages ago)

 

Image: The Birth of Venus (Aphrodite), Alexandre Cabanel (1823–1889), public domain work of art from Wikimedia Commons

2 thoughts on “Poem: On the Road with Aphrodite

Leave a Reply

