Spiritual Humor

452

A young woman who was worried about her habit of biting her fingernails down to the quick was advised by a friend to take up yoga. She did, and soon her fingernails were growing normally. Her friend asked her if yoga had totally cured her nervousness. – No, she replied, but now I can reach my toe-nails so I bite them instead.

There are two kinds of people in the world, those who believe there are two kinds of people in the world and those who don’t. – Robert Benchley

Student: If I’m open minded, won’t my brains fall out?
Teacher: No, just keep your mouth shut at the same time.

If you believe in telekinesis, please raise my hand.

Says one woman to the other: – My son started to meditate. I don’t know what it is but it’s better than him sitting around doing nothing. 

I am not young enough to know everything.  – Oscar Wilde

Genealogy

A little girl asked her mother: – How did the human race appear? The mother answered, – God made Adam and Eve and they had children and so was all mankind made.  Two days later the girl asked her father the same question. The father answered: – Many years ago there were monkeys from which the human race evolved. The confused girl returned to her mother and said: – Mom, how is it possible that you told me the human race was created by God, and Dad said they developed from monkeys? The mother answered: – Well, dear, it is very simple: I told you about my side of the family and your father told you about his.

Peace

Disciple: Oh wise and all knowing one, take me to the realm of perfect peace.
Master: If I take you to that realm, it will no longer be peaceful.

The Yogi and the Pizza

The Yogi walked into the Zen Pizza Parlor and said: –  Make me one with everything. When the Yogi got the pizza, he gave the proprietor a $20 bill. The proprietor pocketed the bill. The Yogi said: – Don’t I get any change? The proprietor said: – Change must come from within.

Q: How do you describe a schizophrenic Zen Buddhist?
A: A man who is at two with the universe

A student once asked Zen teacher Steve Allen: – If you were given a wish-fulfilling jewel, what would you wish for?  – To stop wishing, replied Allen.

The Sunday School teacher asks: – Now, Johnny, tell me frankly: do you say prayers before eating? – No sir,  little Johnny replies,  I don’t have to. My Mom is a good cook.

The best vitamin to be a happy person is B1.

 

Being kind:

492

4 thoughts on “Spiritual Humor

  1. Thanks for the laughs. Those are funny! I love this one:
    “Disciple: Oh wise and all knowing one, take me to the realm of perfect peace.
    Master: If I take you to that realm, it will no longer be peaceful.”

    Like

    1. Thanks for the feedback. My favorite is perhaps the one about open mindedness. 😀 I have always appreciated the yogis (of some “lineages” at the least) encouraging for jokes and laughing at them/ourselves. Laughter liberates.

      Like

Leave a Reply

