Poem: Peace

pear_tree_flowers-wallpaper-1366x768

Peace

by Eino Leino

What is this fragrance around me?
What is this quietness?
What is this promise of peace in my heart,
what strange, grand, new thing is this?

I hear how the flowers are growing
and the talk of the trees in the wood.
I think that my old dreams are ripening
all my hopes, all the things that I sowed.

Everything’s quiet around me,
Everything’s gentle and sweet.
Great flowers are opening here in my heart
with a fragrance of deepest peace.

– Translated by Lola Rogers

 

Image: wallpaperswide.com

One thought on “Poem: Peace

Leave a Reply

